Monday, January 10, 2011

FIFA crowns the best of 2010

The inaugural FIFA Ballon D'Or awards, a merger between the FIFA World awards and the longer established France Football Ballon D'Or, has taken place in Zurich to honour football's finest in 2010. The winners are as follows:

  • World Player of the Year - Lionel Messi

  • Women's World Player of the Year - Marta (Brazil)

  • Coach of the Year - Jose Mourinho
  • Women's Coach of the Year - Silvia Neid (Germany)
  • Team of the Year - Iker Casillas, Maicon, Lucio, Gerard Pique, Carles Puyol, Wesley Sneijder, Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, David Villa
  • Fair Play Award - Haiti U-17 women's team
  • Presidential Award - Archbishop Desmond Tutu
  • Puskas award (goal of the year) - Hamit Altintop

-Sean O'Conor

No comments: